now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Crawled up a volcano and flew back down
<< 7:33 p.m. - Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002 >>
Arguing. We never end a day without some disagreement. My mother says, �I can�t wait till you get out of this phase and we can be friends again.� Urr! So it�s always my fault eh? That seems crappy. I doubt I�m the one starting all the fights. Now that I�m older I�m finding faults in her. The god-like person I thought she was, is now a dilapidated monument to the person I thought I knew.

She tells me it doesn�t matter if I don�t shave and wear Capri pants, because no one will notice. But 5 minutes later she starts freaking out about dirty socks and �people are going to see your socks and think you have a bad mother.� (this is an actual real life event) I�m beginning to realize, it�s not what I�m wearing that bothers her, she is so self-conscious about herself that her embarrassment reaches toward me. It�s quite disheartening. She wonders why I don�t want to go shopping with her�.ummm.

So in my anger and frustration I kicked my sandals off and ran out side to get my bike. It was great. Went up to the top of Mt. Tabor and then down. I flew down that extinct volcano. It was amazing. I felt so invigorated. Nice change. I love to ride my bike�.

Beautiful view up there. Hawthorne was lit up and in the foreground while the downtown light glittered in the distance. Quite magical. I paused on my bike, puffing short breaths and looking out over the city. Makes you feel so small.

I am awake again.