now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

baby you're a lost cause
<< 11:45 p.m. - Friday, Oct. 25, 2002 >>
A poem I wrote freshman year. This is my fiftieth entry and so I celebrate. Alone..

What lies beneath?

I can look at something and feel its life
Imagine what happens day to day
Short shrubbery
A marble countertop
That fake smile your sister wears
I can see the small bits of my own life reflected
In someone else�s life
Their eyes tell me

But you
You�ve got me entranced
I can�t see past the glassy eyes
The solemn lips
You�ve got me puzzled
And for the moment
I�m liking it

Where is you mind now?
Pondering the black silhouettes of trees?
Thinking of the moon�s orange edges?
Watching the puddles in the street?
I can�t tell

What is happening?
It�s you that is holding me to Norway
Something silent and unorganized
Foreign,
Like spices from Asia

I�m wanting the places I haven�t been yet,
I�m wanting cold windowpanes
A boat adrift in the Atlantic
Norwegian spoken between a red candle
I�m wanting you

It all came at night
When love came out of the shadows of day
And crept into my mind in the heat of the night
The lines ended, and the truth began

Finally I can give you the truth
I can see past your eyes