now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

sinkin' in
<< 5:04 p.m. - Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2002 >>
I just realized that I have to finish my TOK (theory of knowledge) essay by December. Oy! I didn�t plan that out too well. So periodically I�ll be writing about my topic. Hope you don�t mind�

�Different cultures have different truths.� �A truth is that which can be accepted universally.� What are the implications for knowledge of agreeing with these opposing statements

Ooh that�s tough. Different cultures have different truths, but what is a truth? Truth could be thought of in entirely different ways. A truth could be a belief: an irreversible statement of opinion. A custom. A �correct� way of thinking. It is like art in the fact that it holds different points for everyone.

Perhaps cultures do all have similar truths. Buried down, and beneath the customs and religions, it seems parallel. They apply to different groups in a culture, but perhaps they are all there.

Everything is a truth. It comes to me that, the way we dress (at least in this society) tells much about what kind of person you are. The homes we own, the friends we have, and the music we listen to. Is that wrong to judge that way? How should we find truths about people? Strikes me as a key point. Maybe not.

-------------------------

The rest of my life consists of unmade tests, note taking and time management. (I do not possess skills in the latter.)

Well ta ta.

I dreamed of Beach boy last night. Very strange. I was flying over an audience like a circus performer and saw him in the crowd. He was the only one I recognized. What is that all about?