now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Sweet / Bitter
<< 12:26 a.m. - Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008 >>
She told me,
that I went careening down the well-kept sidewalks of Grand Rapids,
eager for my tiny basket to be filled with candy.
That the white tights and the tiny shoes with sparkles
were eventually torn and stripped of their ceremony.
My knees bloody
and my mind still on the potential sweets that awaited inside foreign homes.

I recall,
years later sitting in class that day and again waiting for the prospect
of sugary individually selected candies.
The brand specifically chosen to speak to you.
And when she called my name,
�Rocky Road� was placed in my outstretched hand.
Some chocolate covered marshmallow combo I did not much care for.
But the choice stuck.
Me:
always fighting for a challenge,
endlessly driven.

Y de nuevo, al transcurrir el tiempo,
me encuentro en el mismo sitio,
mirando hacia atr�s y viendo que la distancia que vade�
me ha hecho romper y crecer mil veces.
Hasta que mi forma ya parec�a distinta que los a�os pasados.

Por todas las heridas que sostuve
Y por las que todav�a me esperan,
se me escapa a veces
que en el final del camino,
que caracolea hasta un punto infinitesimal,
queda una sabor dulce.

Escojo siempre ese camino rocoso,
que me trae una vida tan cruda y fresca.