now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Look How Far the Light Came
<< 11:50 p.m. - Friday, Aug. 14, 2003 >>
Swam across a painted river with the girls who have experienced so much more than I have. We are Amazons. Sisters in our own right, and this is the first time I haven�t said that without laughing inwardly. Suddenly I feel capable of anything.

�Goddamn I just swam across the Columbia and back again.�

Legs churning in the green water that echoes light in the strangest ways. I turn over under the water and look at the sky, rippling and translucent, and I�m thinking, �this is like heaven.� All the minor details that I focus too much attention on are gone. Our heads keeping a line toward the burning rainbow sunset. River like watercolor paint all flowing and ebbing and sometimes it�s all I want.

Cause she�s got a mango in her garden, sweet as can be...
Milling humans, shivering energy glows...

Lulled by Bruce Cockburn in the car. We glow. They kiss. Heisha all orange in harvest fire incandescence. We look at the moon. She sings. They cuddle into each other and one falls asleep on the others shoulder. I smile at unknown reveries. Alone and full. We are so quiet in the hum of guitar strings.