now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

don't feel good unless we're gray
<< 8:54 p.m. - Friday, Nov. 22, 2002 >>
This girl needs to be real with me. She fishes for compliments. And I am forced to repeat them to her. I don�t know what she is thinking; why she thinks the way she does. In writing she sounds desperately lonely and in love. At school she is cheerful. What does she want? What does she need? I would help if only I could penetrate these fa�ades we create. I am trying to be caring. I am trying to be a good friend. Oh! I only mean to help.

G - I am reading yours. Yay! I�m magical! We should get together soon. ;)

Spent hours with Sydney, a four year old. We ran around in the park � got close enough to touch the clouds, dance on a see-saw, watch the dog run down the slide and bite at our heels. Played horse. (I, as the horse, wore a pink makeshift blanket-saddle and a piece of yarn for a bit) Came home with slice of key lime pie.

Walked home and thought about ToK. My presentation is coming up; (I�m 34th) I have to get it together!

My knowledge statement:

�But color vision, in real life, is part and parcel of our total experience, is linked with our own categorizations and values, becomes for each of us a part of our life-world.� -Oliver Sacks

Questions:

How does color vision affect our experiences?
What values are changed through color?
How do we categorize things by color?
How does one explain color?
Why is color important?
What does color mean to the blind?
How would you describe the color red?

Presentation ideas:

- Look at how the eye perceives color.
- Have people eat of taste food dyed with bright unnatural color.
- Have people explain associations with a color.
- Discuss the discrimination of blacks, how color effects us.

And that�s all I have for the moment. If you might have ideas, add some to my guest book.