now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Hypocrites and Parties
<< 5:28 p.m. - Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2003 >>
Let�s call them �gatherings� rather than parties. Because I tend to think of parties in the sense of �glug glug* *sex sex* *smoke smoke* *crash crash*.� And that isn�t being accurate. There is something inherently different about the gatherings I have with sixth grade friends and with gatherings of mixed genders. Why is there so much self-deprication in the former? Why do I feel like we�re all so very petty? Here I am, being a complete hypocrite and �holier than thou.� I feel like an ass. I do all the things that I find annoying in others.

Where does this attitude come from? I come back from Alex�s house and feel like I�ve been doing everything wrong. Like I�ve been focusing on the details and not really looking at the bigger picture. We�re at Melissa�s and talking about who has more stomach fat, who is the whitest, goddamn, I get so sucked up in shit that shouldn�t matter. It�s not what life is about, so why I am so tied up in it?

Friends, I think we should go swimming at the Deschutes River. Anyone with me?