now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Street Spirit
<< 2:57 a.m. - Tuesday, Jul. 15, 2003 >>
I�m seeing things that aren�t there. Double takes and gasps of surprise when a pair of balloons turns into my dad�s head peering around the bookshelf. And my very own shadow is suddenly my assailant waiting in the bushes. I�m up too late and really couldn�t give a fuck. My mind is cranking out bad information; I�m shoveling pita and hummus into my mouth and staring absently at the screen. This feeling is new and I want to explore it all night.

Rows of houses, all bearing down on me
I can feel their blue hands touching me
All these things into position
All these things we'll one day swallow whole
And fade out again and fade out

No more d�j� vu. None of these parties that seem to be on repeat over the years. Discovery. I go into the day without my usual thoughts, without trying to link all my days together, and deciding too early that the day will be shit. Sunny days and waking up too late = Flat pop in a huge glass. Too much oily soup. No shower. Friends that leave too soon.

These facades I thought I felt so strongly are no more. No more. I can see the cracks underneath my feet. I am watching your face and the sky. Spaces of silence I would never dare enter. The stars can have my thoughts I wish weren�t so petty. You write so beautifully on paper without the inherent scratchings that litter my own page. And I end up wanting to read more with my lazy eyes. Do research without someone breathing down my neck. Your words. Dear friend, I think you are the poet.

The other. We are this trio I pushed myself in. And I don�t mind listening to you two talk. Or watching your hands fly up and down the neck of the bass. Never apologize for playing. I know no mistakes. Every sound is so deep and resonant, my honey words cannot begin to express the joy I feel when watching others create. You two, inspiration comes to me in your presence.

Immerse your soul in love
IMMERSE YOUR SOUL IN LOVE