now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

He Looked Like He Was Going to Cry
<< 4:59 p.m. - Monday, Jun. 09, 2003 >>
*Lackluster*

It's everything I've said before
This class follows the law of diminishing returns
And I won't let go of things very well
Stop your tiptoeing around me
You are the one who blew up
I am the one who burst with stupid tears

You can remember me for whatever you want
But I hope you don't
Because I want to be brutally honest
You killed any shred of confidence I ever had
Trying in vain to replace it with manufactured lies
Don't try and tell me I'm an excellent writer
Your words are empty air to me

You say, "I was an all A's student"
And I wonder why that matters to you
What I did, and what I said in a class of almost forty
It doesn't matter
And those B's I got for my lethargy
I won't remember them
I don't want your mind turning around on mine

I want to be done with this
I will hand this paper to you
And walk away
Swallowed by the halls that open like mouths around me
Leave behind the echoes of things we said
In darkness