now * then * profile * guestbook * livejournal * host

Age of Aquarius
<< 1:07 a.m. - Monday, Jun. 16, 2003 >>
I fell in love with the open road. Drove about 100 miles today. Wind and sun in our faces and a harmony of mandolins calling to us. Best Father’s Day ever. There were no stupid presents un-thoughtfully given. We went to the Deschutes and I watched the sky, so very blue it hurt my eyes. I love the undulating hills out there. Everything was so clear, so crisp, so focused. The river is so powerful, and my dad knows all the names of eddies and rapids. I just kept my head over the water like an otter and swam in and out of the swift current. Because I only really care about swimming.

This summer is opening opportunities I never thought would be presented. All these people I’m meeting are amazing. Reestablishing old friendships happens in the process. How did Jenny put it? “And now I've kissed a lot more people.” Hah. The blue glow from Kai’s cell phone and anxious people’s faces around it, I’ll never forget. Boundaries broke, because we kissed everyone; their lips all so soft.

My writing class at Lewis and Clark starts tomorrow. Dammit! The idea is has lost its splendor. I want to sleep in and buy a sarong for the Dragon boat luau.